IMechE to reward UK’s most innovate engineers

IMechE to reward UK’s most innovate engineers
The Institution of Mechanical Engineers has launched a search for six of the UK's most innovative and inspiring mechanical engineers.

The Prestige Awards will be given to individuals who have helped to innovate and reach high standards of excellence throughout a variety of fields and expertise. Nominations are open until March 31 and the winners will be celebrated at the Institution's annual Vision Awards in the autumn.

Alec Osborn, former IMechE president and vice chairman of the Trustee Board Awards Committee, said: "These awards aim to highlight the work that engineers have achieved both nationally and internationally on a number of different fronts.

"Whether someone has gained worldwide recognition for their work, contributed to improving safety or broadened involvement in the profession, they could be in with a chance of gaining an award."

Four of the awards are open to engineers working in industry or academia: the James Watt International Gold Medal, the James Clayton Prize, the IMechE Equality and Diversity Award, and the Award for Risk Reduction in Mechanical Engineering. The remaining two will be awarded solely to engineers working in academia: the Thomas Hawksley Gold Medal and the George Stephenson Gold Medal.

More information is available at

Laura Hopperton

This material is protected by MA Business copyright
See Terms and Conditions.
One-off usage is permitted but bulk copying is not.
For multiple copies contact the sales team.


Supporting Information
Do you have any comments about this article?

Your comments/feedback may be edited prior to publishing. Not all entries will be published.
Please view our Terms and Conditions before leaving a comment.

© MA Business Ltd (a Mark Allen Group Company) 2022